Tuesday, September 06, 2005

Commons All Party lobby set to back Gibraltar National Day

Gibraltar Group chairman Lindsay Hoyle MP
Lindsay Hoyle the chairman of the all party Gibraltar Group lobby in the Commons will be leading a group of fourteen UK MPs, guests of the Government of Gibraltar, for the National Day festivities this Saturday.

MPs on the visit include Simon Hughes a leading Liberal Democrat who has attended in previous years and Eleanor Laing the Conservative MP.

The Chief Minister Peter Caruana will be hosting a reception on the eve of National Day which they will be attending along with representatives from a wide cross section of the community.

There will also be an official dinner in their honour, to which all members of the House of Assembly have been invited on National Day.

Mr Caruana will be giving the group an extensive briefing of Gibraltar issues ahead of Saturday’s rally which starts at 12.30 pm at Casemates.

The traditional release of 30,000 balloons at Casemates Square symbolising Gibraltar’s aspiration and our right to self-determination.

The Parliamentarians joining Mr Hoyle are: David Crausby MP (Lab), Bob Laxton MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab), Simon Hughes MP (Lib Dem), Brian Jenkins MP (Lab), Kevan Jones MP (Lab), Paul Keetch MP (Lib Dem), Eleanor Laing MP (Cons), Mike Penning MP (Cons), Eric Pickles MP (Cons), Geraldine Smith MP (Lab), Bob Spink MP (Cons) and Lord Bilstone (Lab).


Post a Comment

<< Home