Friday, July 01, 2005

Convent investiture parade

A total of 24 medals were presented to soldiers from the Royal Gibraltar Regiment at an investiture parade at the Convent.

Governor and Commander-in-Chief Sir Francis Richards presented the medals.

LCpl Louis Vassallo was presented with the Iraq medal with clasp for serving in Iraq during Operation TELIC 1.

The Iraq medal with clasp awarded to LCpl Louis Vassallo (Permanent Cadre) was instituted in recognition of campaign Service related to Operations in, and in support of Iraq from 20th January 03. The Medal is circular in form and in cupro-nickel. The obverse bears the crowned wynne effigy of Her Majesty The Queen. The Design of the reverse is the symbol of the Lamussu, (a sculpture dating from the Assyrian period which is symbolic of the region).

From March to July 03 LCpl Vassallo served with the 1st Bn Royal Regiment of Fusiliers. The Batallion were one of the first to deploy at the start of Operation Telic and they were engaged in action in Basra/Iraq.

Volunteer and reserve service medals and Clasps are awarded to personnel of all ranks in recognition of long and efficient service of proved capacity in the Volunteer Reserve Forces. The VRSM replaced the Efficiency Medal/Efficiency Decoration on 01 April 1999. The VRSM is awarded for 10 years service.

The medal is oval in form, silver, and bears on the obverse the Crowned Effigy of the Sovereign and on the reverse the words “For Service in the Volunteer Reserves” above a bunch of oak leaves. The name of the recipient is inscribed in the rim of the Medal.

For Long and Efficient Service the VRSM is awarded to:

Alan Montegriffo, WO2 Barry Hope, WO2 Michael Pizzarello, WO2 Joseph Celecia, CSgt Joseph Gomila, CSgt Paul Llanelo, Sgt Anselmo Ochello, Sgt Albert Vallejo, Cpl Christian Celecia, Cpl Michael Celecia, Cpl Francis Chipolina, Cpl Raphael Gonzalez, Cpl Andrew Rowbottom, Cpl Jonathan Saccone, Cpl Joseph Williamson, LCpl Derek Diaz, LCpl Charles Gonzalez, LCpl Christine Haveland, LCpl Joseph Mauro, LCpl Michelle Mor, LCpl Dennis Santos, Pte Rafael Gonzalez and Pte Kenneth Trinidad.

Chief of Staff, Colonel Malcolm Croft attended the ceremony in his role as Commander Royal Gibraltar Regiment alongside Lieutenant Colonel Mark Randall (Commanding Officer RG) and Lieutenant Colonel (Retd) Eddie Guerrero OBE JP (Honorary Colonel).

The Regimental Band played at the reception which was attended by other officers from the Royal Gibraltar Regiment as well as fourteen representatives from the International Military Music Society. The IMMS are looking to set up a Gibraltar branch of the society for military music enthusiasts. During their stay they also attended the 175th Anniversary parade for the Royal Gibraltar Police and visited the Rooke Volunteer Band.


Post a Comment

<< Home